So I Failed NaNoWriMo, What Now?

Alright, so anyone who has been reading this blog knows, I was participating in NaNoWriMo last month to try and write a novel.  I have never written anything longer than a short story for school, so this was a bit ambitious of me, but I had a great story idea, so I thought, why not?  Now, I started off pretty well, with a great idea, interesting characters, and most of my storyline planned out.

However, 15 days in—that’s right, half way—and I was only at 10,000 words.  I kept thinking to myself, it’s okay Danielle.  You’ll get through it.  You just have to write a little extra each day.  Well, needless to say, that did not happen.

Right around half way, I was hit with a really bad cold of some kind.  I spent three days in bed exhausted and having difficulties breathing.  My brain was pounding and the last thing I was going to do was work on my story.  I thought I could work on it when I started to feel a little better.  Only, I didn’t start to feel better until the last few days of November.  I was so sick that I just didn’t feel like writing.  Plus, in my cold-induced state, I didn’t want my writing to slack because of how I was feeling.

I really enjoy my story idea and I intend to see it through, so I wanted to make sure that my story is top quality writing.  As a journalism student, I spent the last 4 years of my life studying writing in university and I kind of have an extreme sense of pride in my writing.  There was no way I was letting my story get ruined.

So, instead of writing my actual story, I fully planned out every little detail that is going to take place.  I know how certain characters meet, what adventures and challenges they will face, the historical background of my story and much more.  I planned out what my characters look like down to tiny, insignificant scars and how their personality affects their daily habits.  I’m really excited to continue working on my story as I have such strong belief that my story is going to be really interesting and I want to finish it, no matter how long it takes me.

December is a hectic month with Christmas shopping and then the actual holiday itself, but now that I am no longer sick, I’m going to keep working on my story until I finally finish it.  Who knows, maybe next year at NaNo time, I’ll be ready to write the sequel.

My story is called A Timely Quest, and if anyone is interested I can post a short synopsis of what my story is about.  Maybe one day you’ll see it in a bookstore and you can feel special knowing you were one of the first people to ever hear about it! Happy writing my friends.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So I Failed NaNoWriMo, What Now?

  1. Don’t think of yourself as failing… A lot of us don’t think that Nano has a lot of value anyway. The important thing is to organize yourself so that you can get some work done on your writing each day. As you get more disciplined, you will get more done each week.
    Daniel

    • Thanks! It was just a challenge I thought I’d try for myself. It did inspire me to actually try my hand at writing. I’ve had ideas before but never actually written anything. It kind of gave me that extra push. Now I’m actually going to finish my story, like I said, as I like where it’s going. My goal is to work on it for a few hours each day for however long it takes to complete.

  2. kanundra says:

    Defo not a fail. 🙂 keep going…

  3. True says:

    I’ve “failed” NaNo twice now, but I learned something each time about what wasn’t working in my stories and that I think is more valuable than winning.
    Good luck seeing yours to completion 🙂

  4. Pingback: Time flies when you’re…having fun? | Imogen Bell Writing

Leave a Reply

