Finished Reading: Odin’s Ravens

This morning I finished reading Odin’s Ravens by Kelley Armstrong and Melissa Marr and I absolutely loved it!

odins ravens

Following the events in Loki’s Wolves, the second book in the Blackwell Pages trilogy was borderline epic. For those who have read the first book (which was also amazing), the second book continues with the fast paced adventure.

As a huge fan of novels that mix modern characters and old Gods of myth, I was incredibly happy when I first started this Norse series. Almost immediately, I fell in love with the main character, Matthew Thorsen, the young hero of this series. Matt is such an adorable character and his youth really helps tell this incredible tale.

As a huge Percy Jackson fan (probably my favourite book series), I was very excited by the prospect of a book that mixed Norse legends and the modern world. This series has lived up to my expectations so far and I cannot wait for the third, and final, book.

Odin’s Ravens follows our group of three heroes—Matt Thorsen (descendant of Thor), and Laurie and Fen Brekke (descendants of Loki)—as they journey to Hel and back to rescue their friend Baldwin (descendant of Baldr) and find Thor’s legendary hammer, Mjolnir . Along the way, they regroup with lost friends, get help from the awe-inspiring Valkyries, and battle many monsters and foes.

I literally did not want to put this book down. Though it is written for younger kids, I absolutely love this series. It’s a fun, interesting take on some classic Norse myths that I believe most people would enjoy. I would definitely recommend this book!

 

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

