Adventure Awaits at Medieval Times

Last night I had the opportunity to cross off an item on my bucket list: go to Medieval Times in Toronto.  I entered a contest in the beginning of the year through Medieval Times’ Facebook page to win tickets to the show and somehow I actually won! As my family and I have had an incredibly busy year, my sister and I couldn’t find a day that we both were free until yesterday.  I called earlier in the week to reserve our seats and we anxiously awaited our adventure.

We caught the Go Train at 4:30 and set off for our medieval adventure.

Michelle and I on at the Go station about to embark on an adventure of medieval proportions!

Michelle and I at the Go station about to embark on an adventure of medieval proportions!

The Go took us right to Exhibition Place, where we had a short walk to the castle.  Upon arriving, we had to wait for the doors to open at 6:15.  When we finally were let in, we were given our crowns (we were yellow) and had time to explore the castle’s gift shops, dungeons, and bar (a must for anyone over the age of 19).

Go yellow knight!!

Go yellow knight!!

The bar had a menu of incredible drinks for decent prices (about $9 each) in a plastic souvenir cup you can take home with you.  You can even buy an actual souvenir cup if you so choose and they will serve you your drink in it.

The castle has all kinds of cool statues and other medieval paraphernalia throughout that you can view as well as a small area that allows you to watch some of the horses before the show.

One of the really cool statues in the castle.

One of the really cool statues in the castle.

20150926_190112

Michelle with the statue!

When it was time to be seated, our section was called first.  Michelle and I were in the second row so we could see incredibly well! The show was incredible and the food was delicious.  For dinner, we were served tomato bisque soup, garlic bread, half an oven roasted chicken, sweet buttered corn, an herb roasted potato, the pastry of the castle–ours was a butter tart–drinks and coffee/tea.  Our yellow knight almost won, but in the end the black and white knight as the victor.

Our yellow knight!

Our yellow knight!

20150926_195532

Yellow knight for the win!

I thought it was really neat how they split the knights into teams; red, black and white, and yellow were one team, while green, red and yellow, and blue were the other.  Cheering is a must and booing the opposing teams is encouraged.  I actually lost my voice with how loud I was cheering (and booing).  Our section wasn’t the loudest so I felt I had a lot to make up for.  Our knight was awesome so he deserved to be cheered for.  When it came time for the knights to toss flowers into the crowd, I actually caught one (and was incredibly happy about that).

Beyond excited that I caught a flower!

Beyond excited that I caught a flower!

The show is fantastic and you really feel like you’ve been transported to a different era.  I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t been before, but I would definitely recommend attending if you live near one of the castles.

After the show, the knights enter the main area where spectators exit through (with the bar and gift shops), so you can talk to them, get an autograph, or even pose for a photo—which of course, we did.

My knight in shining armour!

My knight in shining armour!

All in all, Medieval Times was a wonderful experience and I already can’t wait to go back!

Exhausted on the ride home, but Medieval Times was so worth it!

Exhausted on the ride home, but Medieval Times was so worth it!

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

