12 Days of Christmas Songs: Day Two

Day Two: Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town by Bruce Springsteen

You know you love a song when you recognize it immediately from just the talking and jingling of bells in the beginning.  Many artists have recorded versions of this song, but none have stuck with me the way that Springsteen’s version has.  Now, I love this version for many reasons.  The opening dialogue of Springsteen talking to fans and his band always brings a smile to my face.  He’s also one of my favourite artists, so any Christmas song by Bruce Springsteen is bound to make me happy.  I remember first hearing this song when I was quite little and loving the blend of instruments that put a different spin on such a classic song.  Let’s not forget Springsteen’s swoon worthy voice.  This song is wonderful because it feels like everyone had an incredible time performing it (and something that noticeable makes a song really stand out to me).  However, my favourite part of this song is the quiet laughter that you can hear in Springsteen’s voice as a Santa-like character sings out his ho-ho-ho’s near the end of the song.  If you give this song a listen, let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

