Should I read Les Miserables??

Alright folks, so I recently watched Les Miserables, and I really loved it.  I’d waited a long time to watch the film as I wasn’t sure how I would feel about it.  I had heard both extremely negative reviews and positive reviews, so I wasn’t too sure whether I would like it or not.  I’m not a fan of Anne Hathaway, so I wasn’t too happy she was in the film, but on the other-hand, I love Hugh Jackman and Russell Crowe.

Who can resist that beautiful face??

Who can resist that beautiful face??

However, once I watched the film, I fell in love with it. From the wonderful songs (for instance, Look Down, Master of the House, and ABC Cafe/Red and Black to name a few), to the great acting–okay, I’ll admit, Anne Hathaway wasn’t terrible–Les Miserables was a pretty great film!  Though the movie was long, I really enjoyed the storyline and the way the events played out (well not how they played out, more so the way the story was told).  The story was heartbreaking, but so wonderful. I’d definitely recommend this film to others.  I mean, I do love a good musical…and hello Aaron Tveit as Enjolras, yes please –am I right ladies 😉

Since I loved the film, my sister and I are debating taking on the challenge of reading the book by Victor Hugo.  We want to read the unabridged version and we know it will probably take a little while to read, but I want some opinions first.  Have any of you read Les Miserables?  What are your thoughts on the book?  I’d love to hear from you guys!!

This entry was posted in Books, Movies, Music, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Should I read Les Miserables??

  1. QuirkyVictorian says:

    Short answer: Yes, I would recommend it!

    I have read the brick several times and I love it to pieces. If you love Les Miserables, you are going to really, really, really love the source material. Hugo gives extreme levels of detail on most of the characters and their backstories. I know the size is daunting, but once you finish it, it’s almost like it’s not long enough. And it’s one of those books you can read a gazillion times without getting tired of it…or maybe that’s just me because I’m obsessed?

    It’s funny because I’m not someone who generally likes long, sprawling works like this. I was so surprised to love it as much as I did, and I would recommend it to anyone! I wish everyone would read this book, as it has so many important themes and even the most minor characters are very memorable.

    • Ohh, thank you so much! I’ve heard only good things about the book so I definitely think I need to read it. I’m trying to find a second hand copy right now so I can take my time to read it (seeing as I know it will probably take me a while)! I’m thinking it might be my summer read so I can sit outside and enjoy it!

      • QuirkyVictorian says:

        Sounds like a plan! It is definitely something that should be enjoyed slowly. My first copy was a second hand Signet Classics edition which uses the Fahnestock translation, which I hugely recommend. Plus the Signet edition is pretty affordable, even though they have raised their prices slightly. My one complaint is durability; it is falling apart after reading it a few times and lending it to an untrustworthy friend… Anyway, I am sure you will enjoy it a lot, and hope you will post your opinions when you are done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

