Cadbury Mini Egg Brownies

For Easter this year I wanted to try something a little different.  I love baking and I also love eating!  Cadbury Mini Eggs are one of my favourite things about Easter and I really love brownies.  So, I thought ‘why not mix two of my favourite things together?’  I didn’t follow any one specific recipe, I just kind of did my own thing, but I took some photos along the way and thought I’d share this amazing treat with you!

1 box Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge brownie mix (or your favourite brownie mix)

1 200g bag of Cadbury mini eggs

1 extra handful of mini eggs (if desired)

mini eggsTo make these amazing brownies, I first cut the 200g bag of mini eggs into smaller pieces. I found that you didn’t really need to be perfect with this.  Some were halves and some were much smaller.  Make sure to keep all the little dusty bits as well (the broken shells) as they add a bit of crunch to the brownies.  If you don’t want to cut up the mini eggs, you can put them in a bag and use something heavy to break them up (be sure not to make them too small though).

Once this is done, prepare your brownie mix according to the box.  Separate a third of the cut up mini eggs into a bowl as you will need these later.  When you’ve made your brownie mix, stir the other two-thirds of the cut up mini eggs into the batter.  I then spread about half of the brownie mixture into my 9×9 inch square pan.  Once that was spread evenly throughout the pan, add a layer of whole mini eggs (this step isn’t necessary, but it made the brownies extra chocolate-y).  Add the remaining brownie mixture on top and make sure it is spread evenly.

Bake the brownies according to your brownie mix instructions (and your stove).  When there’s about five minutes left of baking time, take the brownies out.  Now, take the remaining third of the cut up mini eggs and sprinkle evenly on top.  Put the brownies back in for the last few minutes of baking.

20160325_095739

This is what the brownies looked like right out of the oven.

Once the brownies have cooled down, cut into desired size pieces and voila!  A perfect Easter treat!

20160325_111239

As you can see, there are whole and cut up mini eggs inside! A mini egg for every bite!

The final product!

The final product!

If you make these, let me know what you think of them!  My family and co-workers love them!

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

