The Book of the Month for April 2016 is:

I’ve decided to start a “Book of the Month” (BOTM) section on my blog, and what better way to start than choosing a book by one of my favourite authors?

magnus chaseApril’s BOTM is: Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard book one: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan.  If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’ve probably noticed that I really love Riordan’s writing.  His books do an amazing job of blending modern life with fantastical mythology.

Now, I bought this book when it first came out in October with every intention of reading it in a couple of days (like I do with all of Riordan’s books), but something told me take my time.  However, then a million library books kept coming in for me, so I kept pausing, thinking hey, I own this book so I can read it whenever I want.

The buildup revolving around this book for me has been massive, but I’m finally reading it—yay—and what can I say, I’ve just started but I love it already.

The Sword of Summer is book one in Riordan’s new Norse mythology series.  It centers on Magnus Chase, a 16-year-old boy who lives in the streets in Boston.

Side note: Fans of Riordan’s Percy Jackson series should recognize the name Chase.  Yes, that Chase.  Young Magnus is related to Annabeth Chase, daughter of Athena.  In fact, Annabeth and Magnus are cousins.  It appears that mythological Gods had a thing for the Chase siblings back in the day. 

The story starts with Magnus finding out that he is actually the demigod son of a Norse god (I won’t spoil who), dying shortly after, and ending up in Valhalla.  Throughout the book, Magnus embarks on a journey to stop Ragnarok from happening.

One of the many reasons I love Riordan’s novels are the hilarious chapter titles.  These books truly feel like they’ve been written by the young protagonists they are about.  The Sword of Summer includes great chapter titles including, “Good Morning! You’re Going to Die”, “Hey, I Know You’re Dead, But Call Me Maybe”, and my personal favourite, “Thou Shalt Not Poop on the Head of Art”.  Seriously, don’t those just sound like what a 16-year-old boy would title his biography chapters?

Random side note/fact: Upon first opening this book I was so excited to read the dedication! Check this out:

I can't help but just love this!

I just can’t help but love this!

I’m not very far in this book, but I’m so excited to read it.  If you’re a fan of any of Riordan’s past novels, or simply love Norse mythology, I would definitely recommend this book!

Love Riordan’s worlds as much as I do?  What’s your favourite??

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

