365 DoW: Day Two

4 April 2016

Today’s prompt: The Transporter! Tell us about a sensation—taste, smell, song—that transports you back to your childhood.

There are many things I could have chosen to write about today that take me back to my childhood, so choosing one item was a bit difficult.  However, what I have chosen is one of those gems that really makes you smile.  For today’s prompt, I have chosen the song Barbie Girl by the pop group Aqua.

I was almost 6 years old at the time of the song’s release in May 1997.  Every time I hear this song, I think back to when I was a child and would listen to this song all the time.  In fact, I still listen to this song today.

From the album Aquarium, Barbie Girl was an incredibly catchy song that everyone in my generation knew.  I have a few really distinct memories of listening to this song when I was younger.

My first memory took place at a friend’s birthday.  I don’t remember what the place was called, but there was this place that you could host your birthday party at in my hometown.  You would invite all your friends to this place where you would get your hair and makeup done and then you’d spend the afternoon practicing modelling.  At the end of the party, the parents would come and you would put on a little modelling show with your hair and makeup and pretty outfits.  I remember one girl I used to be friends with had her party there and one of the songs we cat walked to was Barbie Girl.  I remember this so vividly because the other girls and I each did a little dance move to the song before walking and then ended with all three of us doing a little dance to this song.  For some reason, this memory has stuck with me through the years and I still think of it when I hear this song.

My other fond memory of this song also revolves around dancing.  When I was younger, I used to love putting on shows for my family.  I remember one day choreographing an entire routine to this song and performing it for my entire family.  I remember making them sit in the living room while I did my routine for them.  Every time I hear this song, pieces of my routine come back to me.  I loved to dance and this album was one I always had fun with.

What transports you back to your childhood?

This entry was posted in 365 Days of Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

