365 DoW: Day Four

6 April 2016

Today’s prompt: Third from the top! Head to your favourite blog.  Scroll down to the third post in the list.  Take the third sentence in the post and work it into a new post of your own.

Blog: ellecanada.com/blog

Sentence: Not knowing how to make a fishtail braid.

Things I Wish I Knew in High School

It’s already been almost three years since I graduated from university and seven since I graduated high school!  I feel I’m a much better person now than I was in September 2005 when I started high school, or even in September 2009 when I first started at Laurier.  I’ve done so many great things over the years, learned so much about the world and myself, made new friends, and just grown as a person.  I’m so much more confident now than I ever was.

I wish I could talk my younger self and teach her some of the things I know now that would have been helpful then.  There were so many life hacks that would have made mornings before school so much easier!  For instance, not knowing how to make a fishtail braid!  This is one of the cutest ways to wear day two hair—because really, who has time to shower every day!  While we’re on the hair topic, I would have told myself the genius that is dry shampoo too [I use the Lush one and it works wonders].

I would have tried to teach myself to be more confident.  I was not a popular, happy teen.  I was the typical teen who felt like they didn’t fit in, regardless of my awesome group of friends.  If I could have an ounce of the confidence and self-awareness that I have now, I would have been much happier…not that I was depressed or anything.  It was just typical teen stuff, but I feel like such a better a person nowadays than I was back then.  I really feel that maturing over the years helped me to become a happier, wiser, more confident person.

Blue eye shadow is not your friend!  I did not go to school in the 80s, regardless of what my blue eye shadow said!  I didn’t wear it often, but man, that was not a good look.  Also, there are other colours other than black and red, don’t chop off your hair (it did not look good), spend a little less time stressing over homework, and most importantly, be yourself!  Don’t worry about what anyone around you is thinking.  As long as you are happy, that’s all that really matters.

I guess that’s not the point of high school though.  It’s a major part in our growing up, learning all these things on our own.  It wouldn’t really be fair to have that knowledge already—but it sure would have been nice!

This entry was posted in 365 Days of Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

