#tpt: Star Wars, Grantchester, and Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods

Top Pick Tuesdays

Today’s Top Picks

My first pick of the day is Star Wars: The Force Awakens. I don’t even know where to begin!  I’ve always been a fan of the Star Wars franchise and this movie was no exception.  Though most people have probably seen it already, I’ll do my best to avoid giving any spoilers.

star-wars-7

First of all, I instantly fell in love with all the characters.  Finn and Rey were adorably sweet, kind, and just the right amount of badass.  Both characters have the beginnings of some really great character development, while leaving us with enough mystery to learn more throughout the series.  I really enjoyed reading fan theories over who Rey’s family is.  In fact, I spent much of my weekend immersing myself further into this world and reading many theories.

poe and finnPoe was wicked cool right from the very beginning.  He was funny, kind, and charming right from the get go.  Even though he wasn’t in it for very long in the beginning, I found myself hoping that he would come back on-screen for more witty comments, like when he met Kylo Ren—“Do I talk first or you talk first?  I talk first?”  Not to mention Poe’s interactions with BB8 and Finn—can you say instant bromance to Finn and Poe?

bb8While we’re on the topic of BB8, how could you not love that cute little guy?  For somebody without a face, he was incredibly expressive.  I loved seeing him doing things in the background.  He’s literally the cutest.

bb8 and r2d2One of my favourite parts of the movie was actually when BB8 was trying to wake up R2D2 (yet another adorable little guy).  This moment was so quick, but so cute.

rey and hanWhich brings me to one of my personal favourites, Han Solo.  I am in love with Harrison Ford and was beyond excited to hear that he was back.  The moments between Rey and Han were really sweet.  I love the way that Han pretends not to care, even though it’s so obvious that he does!  I’m sad that we won’t get to see more of their interaction.

As for Kylo Ren, I’m a little disappointed.  I was expecting this big, intimidating bad guy, but Adam Driver’s portrayal just seemed to fall a little short.  I don’t think he was the right choice.  To me, Kylo wasn’t bad enough.  Driver’s voice didn’t really fit and he has too sweet of a face.  I’m a little saddened, but I can get over it enough to enjoy the movie as a whole.


Vicar Sidney Chambers and Detective Inspector Geordie Keating

Vicar Sidney Chambers and Detective Inspector Geordie Keating

Today’s second pick is the television show Grantchester.  The show is based on “The Grantchester Mysteries”, a series of crime fiction short stories written by British author James Runcie.  Set in the 1950s in a little village called Grantchester, near Cambridge, the show focuses on the adventures of local vicar, Sidney Chambers, and his unlikely friend, Detective Inspector Geordie Keating.

The two friends spend time solving crimes that occur in Grantchester and the surrounding villages.  I really enjoy watching as Chambers and Keating work to solve these crimes.  It’s interesting the way things were back in the 1950s and that really comes into play in this show.  As a vicar, there are certain values and beliefs that affect the way Chambers views many of the cases and victims.  I’m really enjoying sitting down with my Mum and sister every Sunday to watch this show.

What we are not enjoying, however, is the character Amanda.  She was Chambers’ old friend who could have been more, but she chose to marry for money instead, breaking Chambers’ heart in the process.  However, she’s not happy in her marriage, so she keeps coming back to Chambers and causing trouble in his life.  I’ve never liked Amanda, but in this season (season 2), she’s become even worse.  She just keeps causing unnecessary problems for the vicar.  Like come on lady, just go back to the man you chose to marry.  Aside from that, this is an awesome show if you enjoy crime mysteries and old settings.

 


61d7ODxC04L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_My final pick for today is Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods by Rick Riordan.  This book is the perfect companion—or standalone—piece to the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series.  Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods gives an in-depth look into how the Gods came to be.  The story is written in Percy’s perspective, which, again, makes readers feel as if, not only is Percy real, but that he is a friend of yours.  I’ve really enjoyed reading the different stories in this book.  Starting with the beginning of the universe with Ouranos and Gaea, continuing on to Kronos, then Zeus, and working its way through many of the major Gods, this book gives us compelling insight into what made the Gods tick.

Chalk full of gorgeous illustrations by John Rocco, PJGG is not only a compelling read, but a beautiful book to flip through.  Below are some of my favourite illustrations.

Persephone and Hades

Persephone and Hades

Poseidon

Poseidon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’re a fan of Riordan’s other works, I would definitely recommend this one too.

As usual, I’d love to hear your thoughts about anything discussed above!! Leave comment below!!

This entry was posted in #TopPickTuesdays, Books, Movies, Television Shows and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

