365 DoW: Day Twenty Four

26 April 2016

Today’s prompt: Second time around! Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored—what is it that speaks to you?

the hobbitThe book I’m choosing for this prompt is The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien.  The Hobbit tells the story of Bilbo Baggins, a rather unambitious hobbit who quite enjoys his quiet life in Bag End.  However, upon a visit from the wizard known as Gandalf, Bilbo finds himself embarking on a journey with thirteen dwarves through the perilous lands of Middle Earth.  Along the way, the company finds themselves in many a dangerous situation all while planning how to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the dragon.

As I wrote in my Top 10 Influential Books post, my sister first read this book to me many years ago when we were younger.  I remember lying out in our hammock in the backyard where she would read to me for a few hours every afternoon.

Smaug

Smaug the Magnificent

Over the years, I’ve read this book quite a few times.  I really love this story and all the characters involved.  The adventure that these characters embark on is such a great one.  You really feel like you’re following along with them.  They face so many obstacles and you never really want to put this book down.  I’ve read The Hobbit countless times and the story never gets old.  Tolkien was a master of writing and really outdid himself with this book.  Not only do I love this story, but I always remember that summer as a kid, sharing the story with one of my favourite people in the world.

This entry was posted in 365 Days of Writing, Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

