#tpt: Odd Thomas and Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Today’s Top Picks

Odd-ThomasMy first pick for the day is the film Odd Thomas.  If you’ve never heard of this film, Odd Thomas is about a young man, Odd, who is a psychic of sorts.  Living in the small town of Pico Mundo, California, Odd works as a short order cook with a side of supernatural detective work.  With the ability to see dead people, Odd takes it upon himself to try to help the deceased move on, which usually involves finding out who killed them—being friends with the police chief, Wyatt Porter, definitely helps his cause.

Meet Odd.

Meet Odd.

In the 2014 film, Odd is working to stop a mass death event from occurring.  With the help of his girlfriend, Stormy Llewellyn, and Chief Porter, Odd uncovers a bigger ploy than he has ever faced before.

 

tumblr_n6j3vwmBir1qi59d2o4_1280

Odd and Stormy

Based on Dean Koontz’s novel Odd Thomas, this film is an incredibly supernatural mystery thriller starring Anton Yelchin (Odd Thomas), Willem Dafoe (Chief Porter), and Addison Timlin (Stormy Llewellyn).  Despite mostly negative reviews, my entire family loves this movie.  It’s seriously underappreciated.

I’ve been told by my dad and sister that the book is also really good.  It has been on my ‘to-read’ list for a long while, and hopefully one day I’ll actually get around to reading it.

You should definitely check out Odd Thomas if you enjoy a good mystery with a hint of the supernatural.


shieldMy second pick for the day is Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (which is actually on in two hours and I’m really excited for).

Currently on its third season, Shield (as it’s often referred to), is still one of my favourite shows.  Now, there have been episodes that I haven’t fully loved, or story arcs that I just can’t wait to be over *cough Ward cough*, but Shield is such a genuinely good show.

Agent Coulson

Agent Coulson

The show focuses on a group of individuals working for the secret spy agency S.H.I.E.L.D. (Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division).  With team leader Agent Phil Coulson hand picking his team members in the first season, we’ve seen quite a lot of development.  There are characters I can’t wait to be gone (Grant Ward/Hive), but for the most part, I love all the Shield agents.

This season has been a really interesting one with more inhumans being found and their powers developing rather quickly.  I’m really looking forward to tonight’s episode, though with one of our Shield agents being manipulated by Hive, I know I probably won’t like the outcome.

Agents of Shield

Agents of Shield

If you’re a fan of Marvel and superheroes, I would definitely recommend this show.  It’s full of action, adventure, and just a little bit of romance mixed with a whole lot of teamwork.

Do you watch Shield?  I’d love to hear your thoughts about the show and tonight’s episode after it has aired!

This entry was posted in #TopPickTuesdays, Movies, Television Shows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

