365 DoW: Day Twenty Nine

1 May 2016

Today’s prompt: Personal space! To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers?  How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?

I believe that my blog is a little bit of both.  I like to write about my personal life as well as what I’m reading, watching, listening to, etc on my blog.  Over the years that I’ve had this blog, I’ve come to understand that when you post about books or baking, you tend to receive more likes.  Luckily, books are something I write about quite often.  The topics that you generally see on my blog are things that I like, but are also generally things that others would like too.  I enjoy writing about new books, songs, and movies that other people may not have heard of before.

This blog started as a way for me to work on my writing skills and to continue to develop my own style.  It’s also been a great place for me to write about things that I enjoy.  Danisland has been a great outlet for me to express myself.

This prompt series is a way for me to go out of my comfort zone and try writing about new things.  Some of the prompts aren’t ones that I would normally even think about, let alone write a post about.  However, these prompts have allowed me to expand my range of topics for this blog.  It hasn’t even been a month and I can already tell that it’s going to be somewhat of a challenge at times.  I just hope my readers stick with me through it.

I honestly don’t know if I would try to write about only topics that would mean my readership would triple.  I feel like I’d be selling out a little bit.  I like blogging because it allows me to write what I want, when I want, and writing about topics simply to increase my followers wouldn’t be true to why I started this blog.  I mean, sure, who doesn’t want loads of followers?  But I couldn’t sell my own blog out to gain those followers.  I’ll stick to my preferences and just hope my readers enjoy what I’m posting!

This entry was posted in 365 Days of Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

