#tpt: Wallander and Captain America: Civil War

Today’s Top Picks

10 May 2016

wallander 3My first pick for today is the British television series Wallander.  Adapted from Swedish author Henning Mankell’s Kurt Wallander novels, Wallander stars Kenneth Branagh as a detective and police inspector.  In the small town of Ystad, Sweden, Kurt Wallander and his team work to solve various murders.  Fueled by his complicated relationship with his daughter and father, Wallander spends most of his time alone, battling many inner demons.

Solitary by nature, Wallander tends to go off by himself when attempting to solve a case.  When working a case, he spends almost all his time going over the files and thinking through the facts.  He is incredibly hard-working, to the point where he often misses sleep because he is off following a lead.

A very rare Wallander smile.

A very rare Wallander smile.

I watch this show with my sister and mum and am absolutely in love.  Wallander is such a sweet, kind man who puts everything he has into his job.  Due to this dedication to his work, my sister and I are always worried about him—and yes, we are aware that this is a television show and he is just a character—but we can’t help but worry every time he goes off on his own.

Wallander is such an interesting show.  Each 90 minute episode is full of countless twists and turns.  It’s always fun trying to figure out who committed the murder and why.  You almost feel a little bit like a detective yourself.  You should definitely check out Wallander if you’re a fan of crime noirs.


Civil_War_Final_PosterMy second pick for the day is Captain America: Civil War!  If you haven’t seen this yet, you definitely need to!  I went to see CACW with my sister on Friday and it was incredible.

For those of you who have been living under a rock, CACW is the 13th film in the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe).  Released in my country on Friday May 6th, I knew I had to see this film right away—and boy am I glad I did.

Civil War is the third Captain America film, following, CA: The First Avenger and CA: The Winter Soldier.  After the events in Sokovia in The Avengers: Age of Ultron, the governments of the world believe that the Avengers need to answer to a higher governing body.  They draft up the Sokovia Accords, a government oversight plan to keep the Avengers in line.  With the events of the last twelve movies adding up, we see the Avengers choosing sides.

We have Team Captain America, consisting of: Captain America himself Steve Rogers, The Winter Soldier (Bucky Barnes), Scarlet Witch (Wanda Maximoff), The Falcon (Sam Wilson), Hawkeye (Clint Barton) and Ant Man (Scott Lang).  Team Cap don’t want to sign the accords for various reasons, with Rogers at the helm worried about how easily higher powers become corrupt.

jrtrytkkty-000223133

Team Iron Man, consists of: Iron Man (Tony Stark), Black Widow (Natasha Romanoff), War Machine (James Rhodes), Black Panther (T’Challa), Vision, and Spiderman (Peter Parker).  Team Iron Man believes that after everything that has happened, maybe they do need to be governed.

team iron man

Without giving too much away, the entire movie focuses on the two teams battling it out over differing opinions, leaving fans to choose their side.

I have always loved Iron Man—I mean, come on, Robert Downey Jr is incredible as Tony Stark—but when it came to the basis of this film, I knew I’d be Team Cap.  From reading about the plot before the movie came out and from my own deductive reasoning from the last few MCU movies, I’ve really started to see a shift in Tony Stark’s character.  To me, Stark was being a complete hypocrite and even a little bit of an ass-hat.  He was also really quick to turn on his friends.

tumblr_o6yel3fQ0S1vp5axco1_540tumblr_o6wy07edy11rdnq0jo3_r1_500tumblr_o6wy07edy11rdnq0jo2_500I absolutely loved Captain America’s entire team.  The dynamic between Bucky and Sam was so fun to watch and I really enjoyed Ant Man’s hilarious input, not to mention my love for Bucky in general.  He’s a precious peach who needs to be protected at all costs.  When Bucky is sad, I am sad.   Team Cap all the way!

I don’t want to give anything away, so I’m being extremely careful what I say.  Maybe in a few months I’ll come back to this film and write a longer review.

For now, just know that this movie will be very emotional and leaves you wondering what is going to happen in the future for these characters.SRyYQZIf you’ve seen Civil War feel free to let me know you’re opinion! Team Cap or Team Iron Man?

This entry was posted in #TopPickTuesdays, Movies, Television Shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

