#tpt: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

21 February 2017

Today’s Top Pick

secret-life-of-walter-mitty

Today’s pick is one of my favourite movies of all time, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013), starring Ben Stiller.  In the film, Walter Mitty works at Life Magazine as the Negative Assets Manager.  Walter often finds himself tuning out of reality and daydreaming of going on grand adventures.  Famed photographer Sean O’Connell (Sean Penn) sends Walter his latest negatives and a leather wallet as a gift of appreciation for his work, explaining that #25 captures the “quintessence” of Life, believing that it should be the cover of the final print issue of the magazine.

Walter Mitty

Walter Mitty

However, Walter can’t find negative #25.  From here, a grand adventure begins in search of the missing negative.  The film finds Walter making all kinds of whimsical decisions and finally finding the adventure he was always craving.

I’m not going to give anything away about this film as I think the journey and the message are absolutely beautiful and need to be discovered for one’s self.  It’s one of those films I wish I could discover for the first time again.  When I saw this film for the first time, I was so extremely moved.  The whole journey is amazing, but the ending is so touching that no matter how many times I see it, it still causes me to tear up in happiness, love, and wonder.

I love this movie so deeply, I think, because I relate to Walter Mitty.  There is so much more that I want for my life, and I often find myself daydreaming of fantastical adventures, just like Walter.  I would love to travel and experience everything life has to offer.  This movie makes me so happy and gives me so much hope for my future.  I have never connected to a movie the way I do with The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.  If Walter Mitty can do it, so can I.  There are some amazing quotes, scenes, and messages in this film that will really reach your soul.

“To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other, and to feel. That is the purpose of life”.

If you’ve never seen this movie, I highly recommend it!  I could watch The Secret Life of Walter Mitty every day and never be tired of it.  It’s so inspiring and beautiful that I think any dreamers out there definitely need to see it.

If you have seen it, let me know what you think of it, and if you do decide to check it out, let me know!  I’d love to hear your guys’ thoughts!

This entry was posted in #TopPickTuesdays, Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #tpt: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

  1. mickimouse18 says:

    loved this! you managed to talk about it without giving too much away! 🙂 favourite movie of all time!

Leave a Reply

