#tpt: Kong: Skull Island

21 March 2017

Today’s Top Pick

My top pick for today is the film Kong: Skull Island.  I saw this film on opening weekend and have been meaning to post about it, so I figured my latest #tpt was the perfect time!

If you haven’t seen this film, I’m just going to say, go see it!  I absolutely loved it.  As someone who enjoys action movies, I thought this one was really well done.

Some of you might remember King Kong, the 2005 film by director Peter Jackson about the giant gorilla we know as Kong.  Now, I really enjoyed King Kong, up until they brought Kong back to New York.  The part on the island was really interesting, but the part in New York kind of lost my interest.

This latest Kong film, Kong: Skull Island takes what I loved about the other movie, and makes it last for the entire film.  Skull Island takes place entirely on ‘Skull Island’—once they get to the island, that is.  This, in part, is one of the major reasons I loved this film.  There’s just so much you can do with an undiscovered/uncharted island, and director Jordan Vogt-Roberts did a fantastic job of portraying everything fans want to see in this kind of film.

From Kong, to other giant monsters, this film had enough action to keep people interested.  Not to mention, a killer soundtrack.  Seriously, that might be one of my favourite things about this film—the soundtrack.  Set in the 1970s, the film features some really great classic rock songs.

Without giving away too much, I’ll just say that I really feel that this film had all the elements fans of previous King Kong movies would be looking for, as well as enough to captivate any new fans to this genre.

Have you seen Kong: Skull Island?  I’d love to hear your guys’ thoughts!

This entry was posted in #TopPickTuesdays, Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

