#tpt: Movies to see in 2017

2 May 2017

Today’s Top Picks

I’m going a bit of a different route again for today’s top picks!  I know we’re already well into 2017, but I’ve decided to compile a list of the movies I’m most excited to see in theatres in 2017!  I’m also going to include some honourable mentions that look like good movies and I will end up seeing eventually, just probably not in theatres.  Also, this post is a bit long, but stick with me, it’s all good, I promise!

Movies I will 100% See in Theatres

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (May 5)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 is one of my most anticipated movies of the year.  I am so unbelievably excited for this film.  First of all, Baby Groot may just be the cutest thing I have ever seen.  I also really love Rocket!  Not to mention all the hilarious one liners and comedic moments in these types of films.  Also, for some unknown reason, I relate to Peter Quill, aka Star Lord.  He’s just such a funny, different type of hero—he also loves to dance and has great taste in music!  I’ve watched the first Guardians so many times and I am sure I will love this one just as much.

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword (May 12)

I have always been a huge fan of the story of King Arthur and this take on the original story sounds incredibly interesting to me.  Starring Charlie Hunnam as Arthur Pendragon, this movie looks like it has so much action and many epic battle scenes.  Jude Law stars as the tyrant Vortigern whom Arthur must defeat.  With a whole slew of other great actors, King Arthur: Legend of the Sword looks like it’s going to be amazing.  I’m excited that this movie was directed by Guy Ritchie as I love his style of filming.  He has such a unique way of filming fight sequences and I think that style will be perfect for this legend.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (May 26)

This one is pretty self explanatory.  Fans of the first four movies will most likely end up seeing this one and enjoying it.  With Johnny Depp back at the helm as our favourite pirate, Captain Jack Sparrow, comes the fifth film in the Pirates franchise.  With some of our favourite characters returning as well as the introduction of some really cool looking new characters, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales looks awesome.

The Mummy (June 9)

Starring Tom Cruise, The Mummy is a new film and said to be a part of the Universal Monsters shared universe.  Anyone who knows me will know that I absolutely love Tom Cruise films.  He may be crazy, but he is a great actor.  I also love the subject matter for this film.  As a fan of the Brendan Fraser Mummy movies, I was super excited when I heard that they were making a new Mummy movie.  I had no idea what it was about until I watched the first trailer, but I can say that it looks awesome.  Another movie full of action and adventure, The Mummy is sure to please fans of all ages.  It looks like there might be some ‘grab your chair or the person next to you when you jump’ moments in the film as well!

Rough Night (June 16)

Now, this film is on my list of definitely seeing in theatres for one main reason: it comes out on my birthday weekend!  I have plans to see this movie on a girls’ night downtown.  Starring Scarlett Johansson, Kate McKinnon, Jillian Bell, Ilana Glazer, and Zoe Kravitz, this movie looks hilarious.  When I first saw the trailer, I thought it looked like a funny, girls’ night out movie.  Then the hilarious twist, the girls accidentally kill a male stripper.  From here the events in the movie just spiral downhill.  With this great cast of hilarious ladies, I think this movie will be a very fun one to see with a bunch of your girls.

[it was difficult to find a suitable trailer for this film, so check it out for yourself if you want]

Dunkirk (July 21)

Now this movie is very different from all the others on my lists.  I am a huge history buff and have a deep love for war movies.  They break my heart and always make me cry, but I just love them.  Dunkirk looks amazing and has such an incredible cast.  Starring Tom Hardy, Kenneth Branagh, and Cillian Murphy just to name a few, this film is based on true events from World War II.  During the war, Allied soldiers from Britain, Belgium, Canada, and France were surrounded by the German Army on the beaches in Dunkirk.  This film is about the evacuation of these troops.  I know for a fact that this movie is going to make me cry, but I am still looking forward to seeing it.  Directed by Christopher Nolan, you just know that this film is going to be well done.

Thor: Ragnorok (November 3)

If it wasn’t obvious by some of the other movies I’ve listed here, I absolutely love a good action/superhero movie.  Who doesn’t love a Marvel superhero?  So far, I’ve loved every movie in the Marvel Universe that I have seen and I know without a doubt I will love this one too.  These films always have such great casts and music.  I’m very excited to see what Thor has been up to all this time since not appearing in Captain America: Civil War.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi (December 15)

This film being on my list also shouldn’t surprise anyone.  I’m not sure what to say other than the fact that I am a huge Star Wars fan and have loved all the previous movies, old and new.  I’m most excited for the return of Rey and Finn as I loved their characters in The Force Awakens and to see some more Jedi in training.  I’m a little sad about the prospect of the end of Jedi, but look forward to seeing where this movie goes.

Movies I Might See in Theatres

Wonder Woman (June 2)

I truly do want to see this movie in theatres, but with so many others coming out this year, this is one I have to think about.  Not to mention, I’m not sure if I have anyone to see this film with.  Plus, as I’ve seen so far, Marvel films are typically better than DC in my opinion.  I’ll probably decide a bit closer to June if I want to see this in theatres or not.

Spider-Man: Homecoming (July 7)

I was super excited for this film when I first heard about it (not going to lie, I’ve loved every Spiderman movie so far), but after seeing the trailer, I’m not sure now.  I mean, it does look good, but is it theatre-good?  We’ll have to wait and see.

IT (September 8)

Okay, so this one is self-explanatory.  I really want to see this film as I love the storyline—not to mention Bill Skarsgard as It—but I honestly don’t know if I can sit in a dark theatre and see this.  I’m honestly a little creeped out sitting in my basement by myself watching the trailer.  This might be a ‘see at home snuggled up with blankets and my feet up’ kind of movie.

Kingsman: The Golden Circle (September 29)

I loved the first Kingsman movie and am looking forward to this one, but again, with so many movies in theatres this year, I’m not sure if this will make the cut.

Justice League (November 17)

With Wonder Woman also on this list, it shouldn’t be a surprise that I’m not sure about Justice League.  Don’t get me wrong, it looks awesome, but I don’t know if I’ll get around to seeing it in theatres or not.

This entry was posted in #TopPickTuesdays, Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

